Flagler student leaders inducted to Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society

ODK Induction 2023
February 20, 2023
By Anna Boone
A select group of student leaders from the campus community was inducted into the Flagler College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa on Feb. 3.

The organization was founded in 1914 to recognize and encourage achievement in five major phases of campus life: academics and research, athletics, service to campus and community, communications, and creative and performing arts.

Craig Woelfel, dean of academic life and ODK faculty advisor, opened the induction ceremony with an invocation of prayer.

“Grant that the desire for clean living and thinking, for high purposes and ideals, for moral strength and integrity may ever remain close to our hearts,” Woelfel said. “Grant also that we may strive without ceasing to incorporate them into the lives as students, faculty, and alumni.”

Circle President, senior Presleigh Johnson, welcomed the inductees and recognized the characteristics that qualified them for membership in the honor society

“We who are the members of Omicron Delta Kappa have observed your habits, attitudes, and capacities, and are pleased with your success, with your steady growth as leaders in worthwhile endeavors, and with your appreciation of the ideals and purposes of the Society,” Johnson said.

After the ceremony script was presented by sustaining members of the Circle, inductees were asked to repeat an oath of the obligations of membership.

Faculty advisor Woelfel commented on the gravity of the pledge they made.

“This means that you will ever seek to make it a real factor for good in academic and community life, not only in your college but in American educational institutions at large,” he said. “That you will make every effort to practice its high ideals, both in private and public life, so that the world may see in you as a concrete, living symbol of the great principles of Omicron Delta Kappa.”

Mary Tinlin, ODK circle advisor and Flagler’s Senior Director for Health & Wellness and CARE read the biographies of the newly inducted members. Woelfel presented inductees with their certificates of membership and President Johnson distributed honorary pins. 

In addition to the student inductees, President Delaney inducted the staff, faculty, alumni, and Honoris Causa members including Vice President and Chief Human Resources and Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer Kelly Toasten, Associate Professor of History Jessica Howell, alumnus Jeffry Garrison, and Chairman of the Board of Trustees- Ambassador John Rood.

“As newly initiated members of our Society, you have taken upon yourselves the obligation of membership which we trust you will accept with responsibility and honor,” President Delaney said. “As we conclude this ceremony and as we leave this place, we hope that you will take with you and incorporate into your daily lives the ideals of excellence in leadership and service which we have affirmed here today.”