Skip to Main content

Women of Vision Advisory Board names five new members, establishes scholarship honoring Robin Cooper

Nov 15, 2018

The Flagler College Women of Vision Advisory Board, whose mission is to provide scholarships and opportunities for women attending the college, has recently welcomed five new members. They are Liz Dolan, Paula Hutson, Barbara Mahoney, Sandy Meeks and Shannon Murray. The newly elected members represent various constituencies, including friends of Flagler College, alumni, donors and community leaders.

Funds for scholarships are raised primarily through the very successful annual Power of the Purse® luncheon, which features a silent auction of designer handbags and a jewelry raffle, as well as a notable guest speaker. Additional monies come from ticket sales, sponsorships, sales of Tributes for the event’s keepsake Tribute Book and donations from attendees.

Since its inception in 2014, the Women of Vision Advisory Board has raised over $370,000, built an endowment valued at over $225,000 and provided scholarships to 15 women attending Flagler College.

At a recent meeting, the Women of Vision Advisory Board voted to create a special scholarship in honor of its cofounder, Robin Cooper, who passed away this fall after an extended illness.

“Many generous friends, colleagues and community members have already made gifts to the Women of Vision Fund in Robin’s memory,” said Kathi Keller, Board Chair. “The Board intends to use these additional funds to create a new scholarship, the Robin Cooper Memorial Scholarship.  This will be the largest that we have ever awarded and will ensure that Robin’s passion for educational opportunities for women and her legacy of generosity live on.” 

On May 9, 2019, the Women of Vision will host their 5th annual Power of the Purse® fundraiser in Flagler’s grand dining hall. The event will pay special tribute to both Robin Cooper and cofounder Dr. Beverly Carmichael, who recently retired from Flagler College. 

To make a gift to the Women of Vision Fund or to learn more, visit


Women of Vision Advisory Board

Women of Vision Advisory Board members, left to right: (front row) Julie McGuire, Dr. Beverly Carmichael, Robin Cooper, Kathi Keller, Janice Long, Linda Allen-Hawkins, Lynda Kirker; (second row) Jean Tucker, Barbara Mahoney, Elsa Brader, Barbara Cone, Diane Key; (third row) Susan Joyner, Sandy Meeks, Paula Hutson, Liz Dolan, Lisa Chismark, Jessie Brabender; (fourth row) Cathy Burkhardt, Paula Fallon, Shannon Murray, Letti Bozard, Sue Freytag, Karen Glenos; members not pictured: Lisa Bond, Araan Burnett, Linda Mignon, Sheia Pleasant-Doine, Deborah Thompson, Lou Ann Irby Willis, Philadelphia Zimmerman.

Tagged As