Skip to Main content

Proctor, Clark and Malvebo inducted into Flagler Athletics HOF Thursday night

May 4, 2018

Flagler College Chancellor Dr. William Proctor, former head men’s basketball coach Bo Clark and men’s tennis player Michael Malvebo ‘89 were inducted as the 15th class of its Athletics Hall of Fame on Thursday, May 3 at a banquet sponsored by Carrabba’s Italian Grill at Flagler’s dining hall. The event is part of the college’s annual Alumni Weekend, May 3- 6. 

The Flagler College Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 2004 to honor student-athletes and administrators who made a major contribution to the intercollegiate sports program while at Flagler, as well as a significant impact in their community after graduating. Since its inception, 60 people and one team, have been inducted, including this year’s class.

Dr. Proctor was appointed President of Flagler College in the spring of 1971. He served in that capacity until his appointment as Chancellor, a position he still holds today. Dr. Proctor had overseen the growth of Flagler Athletics during his time as president. The completion of the gymnasium in 1976 was the first major project. In May of 1977, the Saints won their first national title as they captured the NAIA men’s crown. Gordon Jones won the singles title and he teamed with Jim Twigg to claim the doubles championship. In March of 1978, the outdoor complex, known as Flagler Field, was completed. In May of 1984, the Flagler Tennis Center was completed and two years later the men’s team brought home their second national title. In May of 1987, the women’s tennis team won the first of five consecutive NAIA national titles. Women’s golf was added in September 1998 and in April 1999, the women’s basketball team won the Florida Sun Conference title. Dr. Proctor is a member of the St. Johns County/St. Augustine, the Florida State University, and the Winter Park High School athletics halls of fame.        

Clark roamed the Flagler sidelines for 31 years. He amassed a record of 491-378, which included three consecutive trips to the NAIA National Tournament (2003-05). Fellow inductee Dr. Proctor hired the then 25-year old Clark, in 1982, who coached for two seasons, returned for the 1988-89 season and announced his retirement at the end of the season on Jan. 23, 2017. Clark was the Florida Sun Coach of the Year three times and was the Independent College Athletics Association’s Coach of the Year in 2007-08. He coached the Saints to the most wins (26) in the history of the program in 2003-04. Clark coached a pair of NAIA All-Americans in John Randolph (2003-04) and Carlton Summers (2005). He has coached 20 All-Florida Sun Conference players as well as three All-Peach Belt Conference selections. Clark is a member of six different halls of fame, including Flagler’s.

Malvebo had an impressive career with the Saints as he was a three-time NAIA All-American (1987-89). In 1988, he teamed with Per Asklund to win the NAIA doubles championship. Malvebo was not just an excellent tennis player, but he excelled in academics. He was a two-time NAIA Scholar-Athlete (1988-89).     

If you would like to nominate someone for future induction into the Hall of Fame, please fill out and submit a nomination by going to, go to “Inside Athletics” and select “Hall of Fame.”

Tagged As