Skip to Main content

Flagler wins seventh PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award

May 30, 2018

The Peach Belt Conference awarded Flagler College its seventh Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award at the PBC awards dinner in Hilton Head Tuesday (May 29).

Athletics staff holding up awarding banner from PBC.

The award has been presented 10 times and Flagler won it six years in a row (2010-16). 

“We are incredibly proud of this honor because it is recognition of the positively distinctive manner in which our student-athletes, coaches and staff handle themselves in the arena of competition,” said Director of Athletics Jud Damon. “We will always strive to win championships, but how we handle ourselves in the process of that striving is more important than the final score.”

The award is given annually to the institution displaying the best overall sportsmanship for the 2017-18 season and culminates the PBC’s season-long sportsmanship recognition program.

Following each championship sports season a Team Sportsmanship Award is presented to the team in that sport that best exemplifies what the award stands for: the spirit of sportsmanship, a high degree of integrity, character and class. Other teams who compete in that sport vote on each team award and points are awarded on how each team finished in the voting.

The Saints earned a team sportsmanship award in softball and men’s and women’s basketball. Flagler has won 27 team sportsmanship awards in the last 10 years; more than any other conference institution.

Peach Belt Conference Institution of the Year Award recipients:

2017-18: Flagler College
2016-17: Georgia College
2015-16: Flagler College
2014-15: Flagler College
2013-14: Flagler College
2012-13: Flagler College
2011-12: Flagler College
2010-11: Flagler College
2009-10: North Georgia College & State University
2008-09: Francis Marion University

Tagged As