Skip to Main content

Dr. Abare inducted into Flagler Athletics Hall of Fame

May 5, 2017

Flagler College President Dr. William T. Abare, Jr., was inducted as the lone member of the 14th class of its Athletics Hall of Fame Thursday, May 4 at a banquet sponsored by Carrabba's Italian Grill at Flagler's elegant dining hall. The event is part of the College's annual Alumni Weekend (May 4-7).  

The Flagler College Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 2004 to honor student-athletes and administrators who made a major contribution to the intercollegiate sports program while at Flagler, as well as a significant impact in their community after graduating and since then 57 people, and one team, have been inducted, including this year's class.
Dr. Abare is retiring after 46 years of service to Flagler, including the last 16 years as its president. In his time, Abare has seen and has played a vital role in many of the changes to Flagler Athletics. Flagler Gymnasium was constructed in 1976. The Flagler Tennis Center followed in 1983. The Flagler Field Locker Room facility was unveiled in 2011 and a little over two months later, the baseball field was dedicated in honor of Walter Irvine Drysdale. Softball was re-introduced as a varsity sport, for the first time as fastpitch, in 2009. There have been so many other improvements to all of Flagler facilities and staffing to the department, which would not have happened without Dr. Abare's commitment to athletics.

One of the biggest moments in Flagler Athletic history came on July 12, 2006 when the move to NCAA Division II became official. Shortly thereafter (Dec. 18, 2008), Flagler joined the Peach Belt Conference. Since joining Division II and the Peach Belt, Flagler has participated in 56 NCAA Division II regional tournaments, won five Peach Belt regular season titles and won 11 conference tournament championships.

Dr. Abare has seen the Saints win five NAIA national titles in women's tennis (1987-91) and the men's program capture NAIA titles in 1977 and 1986.

Just as important as the successes the athletics programs have had in his time, Dr. Abare is even prouder of the quality of student-athletes. Flagler has had the PBC Male Athlete of the Year in 2012 in men's soccer player Johan Bergfeld, several Academic All-Americans® and countless scholar athletes as well as all-academic members of the Florida Sun and Peach Belt Conferences.        

If you would like to nominate someone for future induction into the Hall of Fame please fill out and submit the nomination by going to, go to "Inside Athletics" and select "Hall of Fame."

Tagged As