Skip to Main content

Students take host of major awards, scholarships

Jul 31, 2009
by Staff

Flagler College students and recent grads landed a number of awards and scholarships during the spring semester • Spring 2009 graduate Jamie Alvarez received a leadership award from the Enterprising Women’s Leadership Institute of Florida, an organization that identifies, trains and supports women as business community leaders.

• The Flagler College chapter of the Society for Advancement of Management (SAM) took second place in the Case Team Competition at the organization’s 2009 International Business Conference.

• Recent graduates Nathan Edwards, ’08, and Aslyn Baringer, ’09, picked up two Associated Press Broadcasters’ College Contest awards and a Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Award this spring. Their winning entries explored environmental issues. Ryan Day, ’08, also won an SPJ Mark of Excellence Award for a feature about homelessness that ran in the online edition of The Gargoyle.

• Flagler’s campus newspaper, The Gargoyle, earned honors from the Florida College Press Association’s 2008 Better Newspaper Contest. The publication received second place in the general news writing category.

• Graphic design students Chris Straehla and Luke Brodersen took first and third place at 2009 AIGA Portfolio Review in Jacksonville. Colleges throughout the region compete at the annual competition, and a panel of industry professionals selects the winning entries.

• Education major Kendra Eaton has been awarded one of 10 scholarships sponsored by the international Kappa Delta Pi organization.  The scholarship includes an all-expenses-paid international trip to promote global awareness and cultural sensitivity.

• Students Kincaid Schmidt and Katherine Wrisley recently received scholarships from Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most widely known academic honor society.

Tagged As