Skip to Main content

Flagler College receives recognition for commitment to historic preservation

Oct 1, 2015

Flagler College was once again a big winner at the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation’s statewide Preservation Awards, including Dr. Leslee Keys, director of historic preservation, who won the inaugural “Roy E. Graham Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation Education.”

The award recognizes an individual who has made a long-term contribution to the field of historic preservation education in a formal academic framework, with an emphasis on historic preservation in Florida.

In addition, Flagler won the “Meritorious Achievement Award in Infill Design” for Pollard Hall. The college’s newest academic complex was constructed in the Second Spanish Period style to fit St. Augustine’s architectural look. It replaced the former Communication building on Cordova and Cuna streets.

Keys has been an employee of the college for 10 years, after three years as an adjunct faculty member. She has also served as the director of corporate, foundation and government relations in the Office of Institutional Advancement. She has been actively involved in historic preservation in Florida since 1984 and developed curricula in Jacksonville, Key West and St. Augustine.

Flagler has received 12 awards from the Florida Trust, including three “Infill Design” awards for the Crisp-Ellert Art Museum, Hanke Hall and now Pollard Hall.

Tagged As