Skip Navigation

Flagler graduates more than 350 students at spring ceremony

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share


Andrew Young

May 3, 2014

Flagler College held its spring commencement ceremony Saturday, May 3, awarding diplomas to approximately 360 students at the St. Augustine Amphitheatre.

Commencement speaker Ambassador Andrew Young encouraged students to be leaders and help solve problems across the globe.

“You have to believe that you are here, empowered and given opportunities, to make the world a better place,” he said. “As you do that one day at a time, you will be amazed at your successes.”

He added: “As you look at the experiences you’ve had — the troubles and the things that have kept you up at night — these are the things preparing you to take on the future.”

Young, a United States Ambassador to the United Nations, worked under the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. and had been highly involved in civil rights protests in St. Augustine. He has also served as a Congressman from Georgia's 5th congressional district and Mayor of Atlanta.

“Nobody would have believed on my graduation day that all of the things that happened in my life could have happened,” Young said.

Flagler's relationship with Ambassador Young began in 2010 when he selected Flagler College as the setting for the first presentation of his documentary film, “Crossing in St. Augustine.” Ambassador Young later donated the archival footage for the film to the College, establishing the Civil Rights Library of
 St. Augustine, an Internet-based multimedia archive documenting the St. Augustine Civil Rights Movement.

Flagler President William T. Abare Jr. Ed.D.  told graduating students, “The diploma you receive today is not the end, but the beginning of life-long learning.”

The Flagler College Public Administration program awarded diplomas to 21 seniors in a second ceremony at the Flagler College Auditorium on Saturday afternoon.

The Public Administration Program at Flagler College is designed specifically to meet the educational and career objectives of public sector professionals and includes courses such as management, program evaluation, public budgeting, human resources, administrative ethics, public policy and grant writing.

Commencement Spring 2014


Public Administration Commencement Spring 2014




Commencement Honor Grads – Spring 2014
Summa Cum Laude

Magna Cum Laude

Cum Laude
Sarah Joyce Benedict
Jonathan Robert Champlain
Rachael Marie Clark
Austin Jay Curtis
Nyal Micah Laird
Blaire Katherine Matthews
Jill Dorothy Nawrocki
Rachel Nicole Nielson
Bianca Regel
Emily Jeanne Schulze
Sidonia Rose Serafini
Heather Rae Stock
Laura Michelle Stuck
Lauren Mackenzie Weisman


Jacqueline Ryanne Bantad        
Arielle Elizabeth Boches        
Katherine Dawn Brock            
Spencer Roberson Carr            
Natalie Marie Cole            
Lauren Marie Craton            
Danielle Jean Curti            
Hayley Ann Diggins            
Rebecca Elizabeth Felico            
Christopher Michael Gregory            
Melody Ann Haase            
Marissa Rose Haynes            
Laura Kristine Kammermann        
Brittany Paige Kassis            
Jessie Lyn Keefe
Arthur Matthew Keene
Andrew William Kustodowicz
Amanda Rose Laporta
Alexander Rene McNutt
Meghan Patricia Murphy
Heather Nicole Peters
Faith Noel Piper
Andrew William Sharp
Lennart Ben Wemcken
Nyssa Rose White
Chantell Dominique Williams
Nicole Michelle Zaunbrecher


Anna Louise Aiello   
Allison Marie Bonifay
Samantha Jane Brown
Chandler Marie Caroccio
Katherine Hope Chance
Kimberly Marie Deninger
Hannah Michele Dunaway
Kasha Nicole Fahy
Cara Rose Fontaine        
Steven Ryan Hall          
Stefani Theresa Hermann
Jonathan Peter Hermes 
Brock Alger Hinman 
Stephanie Renee Hudson
Glenna Ellen Hursh   
Danielle Madison Jordan
Kelly Louise Landrum
Miranda Marie Lee        
Caroline Elizabeth Leuer
Zachery John Lewis
Brittany Michele Maronel
Gwenivere Skye Love
Courtney Reid Meadows
Abigail Lauren Meyers
Stephen Randall Miner
Shelby Rae Ptacek
Pamela Alejandra Santamaria
Colleen Elizabeth Zemanek
Alyssa Rose Schaper
Elisabeth Malee Shields
Allison Lauren Siggeman
Lindsay Ames Tarr
Marie Elizabeth Taylor
Ansley Lakenmarie Warner
Tara Marie Whitaker
Daniel Thomas White
Passhayla Curtek Williams
Shelby Marie Willumsen
Chase Lee Wilson
Maxine Rose Young


Public Administration Honor Grads – Spring 2014
Summa Cum Laude

Magna Cum Laude

Cum Laude
Ashley Lauren Larramore
Denise H. Sikes


Justin W. Desy Sr.
Jared Van Brocklin


Jennifer Compton
Thurman Colby McGlothlin
Kimberly Ann Navarro