Skip Navigation

Flagler announces Faculty of the Year, Dean’s Award winners

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share

Vanden Houten

Vanden Houten


April 28, 2014

The Flagler College student body has named Associate Professor Arthur Vanden Houten the 2014 Faculty of the Year.

Vanden Houten has taught social sciences at Flagler College since 1997 and is known for his active service to the college community. He also serves as the director of the college’s First-Year Experience program.

The award is determined through elections held by the Student Government Association.

In addition, the college has announced the following recipients of the 2014 Dean’s Awards handed out by Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Dr. Alan Woolfolk:

Dean’s Award for Leadership and Service: Director of the Crisp-Ellert Art Museum Julie Dickover, Associate Professor of Art Laura Mongiovi and Proctor Library staff member Blake Pridgen

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Professional Development: Associate Professor of English Liz Robbins, Associate Professor of Social Sciences Emily Splane

Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching: Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences Matthew Brown, Associate Professor of Art Patrick Moser and Professor of Math Greg Smith

Dean’s Award for First-Year Experience: Assistant Professor of Humanities Doug Keaton