Skip Navigation

Flagler Gargoyle publishes Anthology 2014

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share

Anthology 2014 cover


April 28, 2014

Flagler College junior Alexa Epitropoulos was named the Grand Award winner of the 2014 edition of the college’s Anthology.

Anthology is a print publication produced by the college’s online newspaper,The Gargoyle. Through a partnership with Dow Advantage Public Relations, a student-run PR firm at the college, Anthology showcases student work in journalism, opinion, public relations, video/multimedia and photography.

Communication department faculty judge student submissions and select the three top entries in each category. A Grand Award is then picked representing the best student work.

Epitropoulos’ feature, “Homeless, Under 30 and Invisible,” looked at the often forgotten population of homeless youth in St. Augustine. The piece also recently won a Society of Professional Journalists regional Mark of Excellence Award.
 Epitropoulos is also editor of The Gargoyle.

Read all of this year’s Anthology winners:

Grand Award Winner
Alexa Epitropoulos

Gold Award – Sarah Williamson

Silver Award – Latesha Johnson
Honorable Mention – Alexa Epitropoulos


Gold Award/Flagler Chapter SPJ Social Justice Award – Ashley Goodman
Silver Award – Marissa Elizabeth Donnelly

Opinion – Personal Essay
Gold Award – Sarah Williamson

Silver Award – Samantha Swantek
Honorable Mention – Cassie Colby

Opinion – Commentary
Gold Award – Alexa Epitropoulos

Silver Award – Matt Keene
Honorable Mention – Hannah Bleau

Public Relations

Gold Award – The Lions Agency (Chase Wilson, Brianna Bradford, Chase Caldwell, Ryan Cinney, Diana Dersch, Justin Dorow, Bridget Heenan, Brendan Murphy, Kaitlin Pulvino, Mariana Rodas, Bunder Shageer, Sheyla Urbina and Chelsea Walsh)

Silver Award – Stefanie Cusick, Katie Lutz, Alexis Mortenson, Stephanie Spadea, Chase Wilson and Amanuel Fiseha
Honorable Mention – Katie Lutz

Photography – Single Photo
Gold Award – Dana King
Silver Award – Gracie Stackhouse

Honorable Mention – Sarah Williamson

Photography – Photo Essay
Gold Award – Sarah Williamson
Silver Award – Gracie Stackhouse
Honorable Mention – Memory Camero

Gold Award – Sina Eslami
Silver Award – Sarah Worthington
Honorable Mention – Sarah Williamson