Skip Navigation

Spring Tea honors supporters of Flagler College

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share

From left, Nancy Russom, Pam Whittaker, Susan Abare and Kris Kelly at the annual Mrs. Abare Spring Tea.

From left, Nancy Russom, Pam Whittaker, Susan Abare and Kris Kelly at the annual Mrs. Abare Spring Tea.

Nearly 80 women gathered at Markland House on the Flagler College campus on May 8 dressed in their best spring attire to take part in Mrs. Abare’s Spring Tea, an annual event hosted by Susan Abare to celebrate the women who support Flagler College.

“It’s such a joy to be able to entertain so many friends who have been supportive of Flagler College for so many years,” said Abare, wife of Flagler College president, William Abare.

Upon arrival at the Markland House, guests were treated to Bellinis and given name tags. Michelle Wilson and Janice Whetstone – spring tea veterans – attended the event wearing fabulous black and white hats. “I love getting a chance to meet the ladies who support Flagler College,” said Wilson. “And playing dress-up!” Whetstone added.

After a chance to mingle, women started to make their way to the dining room where a lavish tea service was set. Some of the offerings included fruit scones, crumpets, crudités, bakewell tarts, an assortment of finger sandwiches, deviled eggs, orange Pekoe tea and lavender lemonade – all made from scratch in the college’s kitchen.

A pianist played classic tunes as the women filled their plates and teacups before moving into the beautiful main parlor – set with round tables, linens, and vases filled with roses and hydrangeas. Take-home bags of Earl Grey cookies awaited guests as the event was winding down.

“This is such a lovely, lovely custom,” said Tis Upchurch, who has been attending the teas since they began. “I get to see a lot of old friends who I don’t get to see very often.”

Some of the guests included Diane Key, Kris Kelley, Susan Graham, Caity Mans, Nancy Russom, Julie McGuire, Delores Lastinger, Pamela Leydon, Sabrina Kelbert, Mary Tinlin and Mary Clukey.