Skip Navigation

Flagler history students win awards at honors society conference

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share

Flagler College history majors Caitlyn Mans and Roberts Sims were recently awarded prizes for undergraduate papers at the Phi Alpha Theta Florida Regional Conference hosted at Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla.

Six Flagler students attended the annual conference for Phi Alpha Theta, the History Honors Society. The students, including Mans, Sims, Bridget Cogley, Andrew Kustodowicz, Lacy Pline and Luke Zerra, presented research papers on various topics with Mans and Sims taking home two of the three prizes awarded.

“It's not unusual for Flagler faculty to think we have some very good students. However, our six participants and award winners demonstrated the incredible academic ability of our history majors in comparison with their counterparts,” said Assistant Professor Wayne Riggs, who accompanied the students to the conference. “The strength of their papers and the acknowledgement of their peers confirm the high quality of a Flagler education and the academic rigor of the history curriculum.”

As hosts of the conference, the Rollins College history faculty decided the award recipients.