Skip Navigation

Flagler College President's Golf Classic at TPC Sawgrass to feature free professional clinic

Email to a Friend
Share on Facebook Share on MySpace Tweet This Flagler College Channel at YouTube
Bookmark and Share

August 24,2011

Flagler College will partner with TPC Sawgrass to host the 2011 President's Golf Classic sponsored by Prosperity Bank. This is the 10th anniversary of the event and coincides with a celebration of President William T. Abare Jr.'s 10th year of leadership as Flagler president. The tournament will take place at the Dye's Valley Golf Course at TPC Sawgrass on Sept 23. Proceeds from the Golf Classic benefit the Flagler College Athletics Scholarship Fund.

This year's Golf Classic begins with a free clinic offered by golf pro Brad Brewer. Brewer is the founder and president of the Brad Brewer Golf Academy at the Shingle Creek Resort and Golf Club in Orlando, Florida. Prior to opening the academy, he co-founded the Arnold Palmer Golf Academies with legendary golfer Arnold Palmer. A PGA class-A Professional who successfully competed on the Australian PGA Tour and Hogan/Nike Tours, Brewer was awarded the 2000 North Florida PGA Teacher of the Year. Golf Digest and GOLF Magazine both published him as a top ranked instructor in America.

The President's Golf Classic will be preceded by a special roast and dinner event on Sept. 22 to honor Dr. Abare. "Excellence always starts at the top, and I can vouch for the fact that Flagler College has one of the finest men, educators and administrators in the world of academia," said Bill Hughes, general manger of TPC Sawgrass. "The PGA TOUR and TPC Sawgrass are extremely proud to support and partner with just such a man, a true champion in life."

The Dye's Valley Course is best known as the sibling to the world-renowned Players Stadium Course. It is referred to as a "challenging yet fair course" with water on every hole. The Flagler College President's Golf Classic is a four-person team scramble tournament and the field is limited to the first 120 entrants.

Various sponsorship packages are available and individual player registration is $250. Registration covers cart, greens fees, range balls, tournament golf shirt, prizes and an awards reception. Additionally, a portion of the registration fee benefits the Flagler College Athletics scholarship fund and is tax deductible.

The top seven scoring teams and the team with the highest score will be awarded prizes. The team with the lowest gross score will have their names added to the Abare Cup, a perpetual trophy established by the Flagler College Board of Trustees in 2009 as a tribute to William T. Abare, Jr. Prizes will also be awarded for the longest drive and closest to the pin.

Registration and a continental breakfast will begin at 7:30 a.m. on Sept. 23 with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. Sponsors include title sponsor Prosperity Bank along with TPC Sawgrass Dye's Valley, Casa Monica Hotel, Jack Wilson Family of Dealerships, Flagler's Legacy, Baker's Sporting Goods, The Bailey Group, PNC Bank, Vicar's Landing/Glenmoor, Batson-Cook Construction, Converged Communications, Orthopaedic Associates, Kresge, Platt & Abare and many more.

To register online, visit For additional information, or to make a donation, please contact Laura Stevenson Dumas in the Office of College Relations at 904-819-6205 or