Skip to Main content
Historic photo of Ponce Hall circa 1960s

Research Associates

Coordinators

Kathleen Deegan

Dr. Kathleen Deagan
University of Florida
Archaeologist
kd@flmnh.ufl.edu

Thomas Graham

Dr. Thomas Graham
Flagler College
Historian
grahamts@flagler.edu

Additional Research Associates

James Cusick

James Cusick, Ph.D.
University of Florida
Archaeologist and Historian
jgcusick@ufl.edu

Elsbeth Gordon

Elsbeth Gordon, M.F.A.
University of Florida
Author, Architectural Historian, Photographer, Graphic Artist
bgordonstaug@bellsouth.net

Carl Halbirt

Carl Halbirt, M.A.
City of St. Augustine and Flagler College
Archaeologist
www.digstaug.org
chalbirt@ci.st-augustine.fl.us 

Tim Johnson

Dr. Timothy Johnson
Flagler College
Professor of Religion and Chair of the Liberal Studies Department
tjohnson@flagler.edu  

Sherry Johnson

Sherry Johnson, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Historian
Johnsons@fiu.edu

Jane Landers

Jane Landers, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Historian
www.vanderbilt.edu/ess/index.php
jane.landers@vanderbilt.edu

Leslee Keys

Leslee Keys, Ph.D.
Flagler College
Assistant Professor in History, Director of Historic Preservation and Research Associate
LKeys@flagler.edu

Susan Parker

Susan Parker, Ph.D.
St. Augustine Historical Society and
University of North Florida
Historian
sahsdirector@bellsouth.net

Eugene Lyon

Eugene Lyon, Ph.D.
Flagler College and University of Florida
Historian
eugenelyon32963@gmail.com

Dan Schafer

Dan Schafer, Ph.D.
University of North Florida
Historian
dschafer@unf.edu

Diana Reigelsperger

Diana Reigelsperger, Ph.D.
Seminole State College
Historian
reigelspergerd@seminolestate.edu
Dr. Samuel Turner

Samuel Turner Ph. D 
St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum
Director of Heritage Boatworks
sturner@staugustinelighthouse.org

Herschel Shephard

Herschel Shephard, M.A., A.I.A.
University of Florida
Preservation Architect
hnjshepard@comcast.net

Tracey Upchurch 

Tracy Upchurch
Flagler College
Associate Professor, Law and History
TUpchurch1@flagler.edu